The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA), founded in 1975, has announced the winners of its annual awards.

Best Picture: Moonlight. Runner-Up: La La Land.

Best Director: Barry Jenkins, Moonlight. Runner-Up: Damien Chazelle, La La Land.

Best Actress: Isabelle Huppert for Elle and Things to Come. Runner-Up: Rebecca Hall, Christine.

Best Actor: Adam Driver, Paterson. Runner-Up: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea.

Best Supporting Actress: Lily Gladstone, Certain Women. Runner-Up: Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea.

Best Supporting Actor: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight. Runner-Up: Issey Ogata, Silence.

Best Screenplay: Efthymis Filippou and Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster. Runner-Up: Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea.

Best Documentary: I Am Not Your Negro. Runner-Up: O.J.: Made in America.

Best Foreign-Language Film: The Handmaiden. Runner-Up: Toni Erdmann.

Best Animated Film: Your Name. Runner-Up: The Red Turtle.

Best Cinematography: James Laxton, Moonlight. Runner-Up: Linus Sandgren, La La Land.

Best Editing: Bret Granato, Maya Mumma and Ben Sozanski, O.J.: Made in America. Runner-Up: Tom Cross, La La Land.

Best Production Design, Winner: Ryu Seong-hee, The Handmaiden. Runner-Up: David Wasco, La La Land.

Best Music/Score: Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, La La Land. Runner-up: Mica Levi, Jackie.

The Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Prize: Deborah Stratman's The Illinois Parables.

New Generation Award: Trey Edward Shults and Krisha Fairchild for Krisha.